Remembering 9/11

I remember exactly where I was 11 years ago today.  I am sure that you do as well.

This was a day that I never thought I would see.  And, even as I watched it unfold, it was hard to imagine.

I was at work when the events began to unfold.  I remember being stunned when the second plane hit the tower.  It was clearly not an accident and done purposely.  Then we heard about the Pentagon and also those brave people who crashed an airplane to save it from more destruction.

That day we learned about bravery, sacrifice, love of others and country, and how important it is to let our loved ones know that we truly do love them.  And, we learned that not everyone likes our way of life in America. It was an end to an innocence in a way.

The odd thing is that I don’t remember what I was doing on September 10 since it was a day like any other.  What this tragedy made me realize is that days aren’t to be taken for granted.  Each one is important and so full of possibility.  And, since this happened, I have tried to make the most of each day and appreciate all that I am given.

My thoughts and prayers are with the families who were directly impacted by the tragedy we know as 9/11.  For all of those who lost loved ones in New York, Washington, D.C., and Pennsylvania, my heart goes out to you.

I wasn’t directly affected, but all of us were in some way.  I pray for our continued healing.

May the Lord bless you on this day and each day.  I hope you can remember your loved ones and thank the Lord for those you still have in your life.  I will be doing just that!

Leave a Reply

