Conventions, Politics, and Voting

Conventions, Politics, and Voting … oh my.

Over the last two weeks I have watched the two parties hold their conventions where they announced their nominee for President.  Some of the items I have agreed with and some I have not, as I am sure others can relate.

First the Republicans had a convention in Tampa and nominated Mitt Romney with Paul Ryan as the Vice Presidential nominee.  Then the Democrats held their convention in Charlotte and nominated President Barack Obama for another term with Vice President Joe Biden.

Both weeks were about saying how great each party was and how bad the other one is.  They also explained the party’s platform and what you needed to know about each candidate.   Both sides tried to put their best foot forward and present themselves as the answer to our issues.  We as voters then have to decide which way to vote.

During the first week, Senator Marco Rubio gave a good speech, the keynote address was given by Governor Chris Christie, and Clint Eastwood was odd but funny.  It helped for Ann Romney to explain about her husband, and it was good to hear Mitt Romney’s vision for America.   Then during the second week, Mayor Julian Castro gave a very moving keynote address, First Lady Michele Obama was very classy and spoke very well, former President Bill Clinton gave a phenomenal speech, and I enjoyed hearing from President Obama.

For me it was important to hear from both sides of the aisle on what is planned for our country.  I don’t agree with all on either side but that works for me.   To some that may seem wishy-washy, but I am not an all-or-nothing person when it comes to politics.

The fact that two such different sides can present their case and their views on television and argue their convictions and beliefs to the entire population is a real gift.   We then can make up our own minds on where we stand and who we feel can lead us forward.

I am honored to live in a country where there is freedom of speech — which has been demonstrated over and over again in recent weeks.  There are many places around the world where this isn’t possible and that is so sad.

It truly is a freedom to believe in whatever manner you want to and speak what you feel led to say.   We just have to remember that ours isn’t the only way to think and believe.  I feel we should value other opinions and understand and respect someone else who may think and believe differently than we do.

To me our chance to vote and cast our ballot, not only for the President but the leaders of Congress (in the House and Senate) and our state leaders, is a true honor and something that I have been doing for many years.  And I don’t take it for granted.

The thing I don’t like and have seen so much of this year is the insults, lies, mistruths, and hatefulness of one side against the other.  What ever happened to agreeing to disagree and respect someone else’s point of view?  Have we gone so far that we can only respect someone with a like mind as our own?  I sure hope not.

For all of our elected officials, I like to think that they will truly try to govern and lead the country while taking into consideration other points of view.  I hope that isn’t being naive on my part.

In the past few weeks, there has been a lot of talk of a Senator who said many of our leaders in Congress were going to do what they could to ensure that Obama wouldn’t serve another term.  This was supposedly done by not being willing to work him on a variety of issues.

I hope and pray that this isn’t what actually happened.  The thought that someone who in good faith was elected to serve his country could just disagree to spite someone else really bothers me and concerns me.   Do we really want someone in office if that is truly their agenda?  I know I don’t.

In addition, the notion that an idea is wrong and shouldn’t be considered just because someone from the other side has presented it is total nonsense to me.   Why?  Can we not even consider another point of view before we dismiss it out of hand?   Whatever happened to a serious debate that at the end of the day could find a resolution or an opportunity for additional debate?

This year to many the main issue seems to be the economy and jobs.  Some have said that is the only issue.  For me there are many issues to consider when electing someone, but I don’t believe it is my place to tell someone else how to think or vote.

I think people have all kinds of reasons for voting a certain way.  And, isn’t it a great thing that we can do that?  I don’t have to agree with someone else or their reasons and they don’t have to agree with me.  But, I think that I should respect the other person and not attack them or say they are stupid or wrong for how they believe.

The notion that either candidate will bring the end of life as we know it is a little over the top to me.  I have heard that from both sides and really don’t like it.  I am much more comfortable with one candidate than the other but I don’t agree with that extremist mentality.  That’s just my opinion.  What about you?

I have some friends and family who are conservative and others who are liberal.  Some who are strong Republicans and others who are strong Democrats.  I think it is interesting to hear from them on their beliefs and convictions.  Sometimes I agree with them and other times I don’t and that’s okay.

Are you going to vote this year? I hope that you will and consider the honor that it is to vote in our country.  I know who I am voting for and why.  How about you?

Here’s to our amazing country!!!

One thought on “Conventions, Politics, and Voting

  1. What do we say to God, well God I just agree to disagree? I pray that is never the case. The truth and facts are stubborn things. You either believe or you don’t, accept or do not. We are all sinners. The Left and the Right and those that are happy to supposedlt be in the middle and claim to try and say they are above it all. I believe Miagee in Karate Kid is correct. You Karate yes or no, Karate maybe yes or maybe no, you will get squashed.

Leave a Reply

