Patti’s Ponderings

Hi friends!  Hope you have been having a great week!  Here are a few thoughts, observations and ponderings from the week.

Can you believe that we are more than halfway through August already?  I sure can’t.  Many school districts, private schools, and home schooling families have already started school for the year.

That to me is way too early.  When I was growing up, we didn’t start until after Labor Day!  The summer would start in June so we’d have nearly three months!  I really am showing my age, aren’t I?!  I know there are some places where that is still the case, but not many anymore.  I hope that we’ll switch back to that.

_______________

I found a paperweight with a great quote on it over the weekend.  It says, “What we see depends mainly on what we look for.”  by Sir John Lubbock.

There is a lot of truth in that.  We read in our own thoughts to almost everything.  So, we can become predisposed to thinking a certain way.  For example, if you are having a bad day, or are just down or upset about something, you will more than likely see just the negative or the bad in things that day.

And, on the flip side, if you are having a fantastic day, you may not see or sense that a friend or family member isn’t as in the clouds as you.  And, you will sense only the positive.

This quote reminds me to think about others and what they may be going through and try to see the positive things in life, if possible.  That is what I got from it.

I would love your thoughts on this quote!

______________

On of my favorite grocery stores opened this past week in Knoxville, but I was unable to make it and still haven’t been there.  Terrible, I say.

Trader Joe’s is now within driving distance of where I live and I am so excited!!  This is a great store that I have always enjoyed visiting while being in Mission Beach, California (San Diego).

My parents went on opening day and said it looked just like the one we are used to in CA!  YEAH!  They found all that they wanted.

The fact that it is close to home now is great.  They have organic food without colorings, preservatives, and other items that aren’t good for us.  And, they have a lot of special foods that we love!!

For example: all of the ingredients to make lentil bruschetta, lobster ravioli, butternut squash ravioli, pear sauce (like applesauce), mini chocolate-mint ice cream sandwiches, and sesame-covered cashews.  These are just some of the many items that I really like!!

I am so looking forward to shopping there very soon!  Thanks Trader Joe’s for coming to the Knoxville area!!

_______________

I have been buying many used books and one new one lately and am having a ball!

We have been to a consignment shop, several used book stores as well as Barnes and Noble and have enjoyed browsing in each location!!

The books that I bought were:

  • a book of inspirational thoughts that my former work supervisor had written and published (this was found at a consignment shop in Pacific Beach, CA — amazing!!).
  • a book on writings about children with special needs (can’t wait to start reading that one)
  • a book about people who live to be 100 years old and where they live (should be a fascinating book about why people can live that long — I want to know some secrets!)
  • Dick Van Dyke’s biography (I have liked him in Mary Poppins, his show with Mary Tyler Moore, and Diagnosis Murder – he is great) — this was on sale
  • Carol Burnett’s biography (her variety show was one the funniest every on television.  Have you seen it?  The best was when she dressed up as Scarlet O’Hara. “This was from my curtains (and included the rod) — makes me laugh every time. this was also on sale
  • “The Particular Sadness of Lemon Cake” by Aimee Bender.  This one I bought because of the title.  I can’t wait to dive into the cake book!
  • and the new book that I bought was “The Family Beach House” by Holly Chamberlin.  I read a book this summer called “The Story of Us” that she wrote and loved it.  And, I can’t wait to read this one.  And, I may have to do a blog about that book and my own family’s beach house.

Later friends!  Happy days, happy reading, and happy shopping!

Leave a Reply

