A Swimming Adventure

Yesterday was a major milestone for Ian and I am a very proud Mommy!

We went swimming at the pool in my parents’ neighborhood and Ian swam by himself for the first time!

He was wearing swim trunks and one of those floating vests or life vest and Little Swimmers (so there were no accidents in the pool).

He was standing at the steps into the pool with my mom when he discovered his float helped hold him in the water.  Seeing the twinkle in his eye was a wonderful thing! After that he was ready to go.

When he started moving around on his own, he told me “Mommy, stop, let go of me.”  “Okay Ian, but I am still staying with you,” I said.

So we then went around the pool as quickly as his little legs could kick.  He was truly excited and proud of himself that he was able to do something like the big kids.  It was a real honor to watch!!

We’ll still need swimming lessons and need to work on keeping his head about the water, but this was a major first step in his confidence.

Unfortunately my camera battery was dead so I couldn’t get a photo or on video.  But, I will keep it in my memory for a long, long time!  My sweet boy is growing up!!

Leave a Reply

