I Love To Write

Good morning and Happy Wednesday!  I was just on Facebook and wrote in response to some e-mails back and forth to my sister that I love to write and can’t imagine not writing.  And that is the truth. So I decided to expand on that in my blog.

I remember in high school and the first years of college trying to decide what my major would be and what I’d do for my life’s work.  Nothing really seemed like the right fit for me except for writing.  While in high school, I wrote a column for teens that appeared in the local newspaper once a week.  That was a lot of fun and gave me a taste of what was to be a lifelong love of writing.

I decided to pursue writing and had some great opportunities in college to continue this love.  I was the editor of the college paper my senior year.   That was an amazing experience.  After 4 years of amazing experiences, I received a Bachelor of Arts in Communications with an emphasis in Journalism.

Then it was time to find a job.  I applied all over the country and after a few months of frustration, received a job offer from a small weekly newspaper in our county seat.  I started as a very green general assignment reporter for The Courier-News.  I felt so blessed to start at a small paper so I was able to cover some amazing things — criminal trials, the county commission, the building of a new jail, and a day in the life of a paramedic.

The most amazing thing was learning first hand how to be a fair and accurate reporter from the man who founded this newspaper in 1930.  His name was Horace V. Wells and he was incredible.  For example, when the city’s high school was integrated, it was the first in the state to do so.  He was in favor of integration and told people if they didn’t like what he said about it, they should start their own paper.

For a person starting out her career, this advice and mentoring was amazing and something I will never forgot.  When Mr. Wells passed away, it was difficult to say goodbye to this man of such great integrity in a business where that is sometimes hard to find.

After three years of very little pay but amazing skills now under my belt, I went on to technical writing.  This type of writing could be boring at times but provided me with new opportunities and many new and lasting relationships.

My favorite tech writing job was in a communications office where I edited news releases, posted them to the web site, interviewed and wrote stories for the employee newsletter, and helped prepare presentations and speeches. There was never a dull moment, that’s for sure.

After years of doing that, I became pregnant.  So a new chapter of my life and my writing was to begin.  I went back to work at the end of my maternity leave and decided I couldn’t be away from our son all day and miss out on his young life.  So, my husband and I decided that I would be a stay-at-home mom and I turned in my resignation.

After I’d been home with Ian for a while, I realized that I had worked in the field of my major for nearly 18 years.  I felt so humbled and truly blessed at that idea!  It was amazing to think of since I never expected that.

The next few years after that, I didn’t write much at all.  I was so busy with adjusting to life with a new baby and very little sleep that I didn’t miss it.  Then one day, all of that changed, and I woke up and thought something is missing.  I hadn’t had my outlet of writing in ages.  So, I decided to make a change.

Last fall I started this blog and I am loving the chance to write again.  I truly appreciate my readers and followers and friends and family who have been so supportive. You all rock!

And, about a month ago now, I attended a Writer’s Conference which was another amazing experience.  This was all about creative writing and giving ideas to people for help in writing poems, fiction, memoirs, and other items.

I met some kindred spirits who will be friends for a long time I think.  It was great to meet people who have the same interests as me but a totally different experience and facet of their life. Now I am working on the first aspects of a novel, a variety of stories, and continue writing two to three times a week on this blog.

Again it is humbling and incredible to realize that for so many years, I was able to work in the field I truly had a passion for.  And, frankly couldn’t have imagined doing things any differently.  Thank you Lord for this blessing!!  I truly do appreciate it.

I would love to hear from you about what has been a passion or something you have enjoyed doing.  Please post them!

2 thoughts on “I Love To Write

  1. Pingback: Throwback Thursday / Random Thoughts | I Still Wonder...

Leave a Reply

