He is Risen Indeed!!

He is Risen! He is Risen Indeed.

Hope you are having a wonderful Easter!  My family and I certainly have.  That is why my post is being made on Sunday afternoon.

Yesterday, we spent a wonderful afternoon at my parent’s house and enjoyed lunch, visiting with friends and family, desert, and wonderful fellowship.  Including children, there were 20 of us together.

It was great to see all of these wonderful people and wish the ones who couldn’t be there had been able to.  We also had an Easter Egg hunt for the children.  Ian is the youngest of the cousins and his older cousins helped him find eggs.  It was really quite nice and a wonderful day!

This morning was a brunch at church, another Easter Egg hunt with all the children at the church, and then a wonderful service.  We enjoyed catching up with friends who we haven’t seen in a while and meeting some new people as well.  Needless to say, Ian is now set with candy for a while.

The service started with one of my favorite hymns — “Jesus Christ is Risen Today.”  Here are the words of the first verse:

  • Jesus Christ is risen today, Alleluia! Our triumphant holy day, Alleluia!
  • Who did once upon the cross, Alleluia! Suffer to redeem our loss, Alleluia!

Can’t you just hear that hymn with the organ playing?!  I can and still enjoy singing this song throughout the day.

The sermon scripture was John 11: 25-26: “Jesus said to Martha, “I am the resurrection and the life.  The one who believes in Me will live, even though they die; and whoever lives and believes in Me will never die.  Do you believe this?”

Amen and Amen and yes I do believe!! As Pastor mentioned in his sermon, this scripture is even more meaningful when you have suffered a death of someone close to you. As he was preaching, I was thinking of our friend Marlys who is celebrating her first Easter in Heaven.  What an amazing thing to think about!!

We also had communion and sang some beautiful songs during the service of the bread and wine.  And the service concluded with another one of my favorite hymns, “I Know That My Redeemer Lives.”

May the words of this song have meaning to you:

  • I know that my Redeemer lives; what comfort that sweet sentence gives!  He lives, He lives, who once was dead; He lives, my ever living head.
  • He lives triumphant from the grave, He lives eternally to save, He lives all glorious in the sky, He lives exalted there on high.
  • He lives and grants me daily breath; He lives, and I shall conquer death: He lives my mansion to prepare; He lives to bring me safely there.
  • He lives all glory to His Name!  He lives, My Jesus, still the same, Oh, the sweet joy this sentence gives, I know that my redeemer lives!

This afternoon, we have had a lazy afternoon, watched some tv, had a wonderful lunch, and just have enjoyed our time together.

I hope that you too have enjoyed the real meaning of Easter.   

He is Risen!  He is Risen Indeed!

One thought on “He is Risen Indeed!!

Leave a Reply

