Salt Water

This morning I was reminded about a great quote on salt water.

“The cure for anything is salt water – sweat, tears, or the sea” – by Isak Dinesen.

There is a lot of truth in this.

Sweat has to do with exercise and working hard on physical activities.  A job well done is important and it is good for our health to break a sweat each day.

I have found that I need to sweat more than I do.  As you know, I am on a weight loss quest.  It is going well with the eating but more exercise and sweating is an important factor as well.

I truly am working on exercising each and every day.  The exercise helps with stress, helps me feel better physically, and helps me feel that I am doing something good for myself and teaching our son healthy habits.

Tears can be shed when you are sad, frustrated, devastated and even happy.  I have cried happy tears as well as very sad.   Happy in the joy of seeing my son accomplish something for the first time or telling me how much he loves me.  Or when a friend gave me a very special photograph of Ian when this friend first met him at 9 months old.

I have also cried over sick family and friends or when I found out that a dear friend of our family passed away yesterday.  Our friend Marlys lived a very long and wonderful life, and there is comfort in knowing that she is now with the Lord in Heaven!

Shedding tears is nothing to be ashamed of and in fact, can be very comforting and soothing.  In the Bible, it says, “Jesus wept.” This is one of the shortest verses in the Bible and quite profound, I think. As a site I came across mentioned, it shows our Lord as a friend and shows that He was a loving man.

The Sea.  Ah, the sea or ocean.  I absolutely love the ocean and the ebb and flow of the waves.

I have been blessed to go to the beach many, many times in my life.  Each time is truly special and something to be excited about and cherished.

For me, there is almost a rejuvenation or healing power to the ocean.  When I look at the ocean, I feel more calm and more relaxed. In addition, I feel small and humbled and am in awe of the Lord’s creation.

If is fun to swim in the ocean and taste some of that salt water.  I also like looking for shells and taking tons of photos at the water’s edge.

I have also found that salt water helps when I don’t feel good.  Having saline water pumped in your nose or gargling it isn’t pleasant but certainly does seem to help with the sinus pressure and discomfort.

All in all, I do think that salt water is pretty amazing — as is regular water.

I wonder if we could live without these waters?  I think it might be difficult.

Please share your thoughts as well. I would enjoy hearing from you.

5 thoughts on “Salt Water

  1. I love this topic, Patti! Excellent blog! It’s interesting that Jesus spoke about salt too in a parable.

    “You are the salt of the earth. But if the salt loses its saltiness, how can it be made salty again? It is no longer good for anything, except to be thrown out and trampled underfoot.” (Matt. 5:13) NIV

    That’s the translation I’ve heard the most, but I like The Message translation of that verse:
    “Let me tell you why you are here. You’re here to be salt-seasoning that brings out the God-flavors of this earth. If you lose your saltiness, how will people taste godliness? You’ve lost your usefulness and will end up in the garbage.”

    I think essentially what this verse is saying that our lives can have a positive or a negative impact on those around us. Amazing what we can learn from salt!

    Beckie

  2. Pingback: Throwback Thursday / Random Thoughts | I Still Wonder...

Leave a Reply

