Will It Snow?

Today in East Tennessee it’s looking like we may get some snow this evening.

I must admit I am distracted today thinking about the possibility. We never get very much so it always is big news.

The temperature is starting to drop so if the precip. does make it here, it looks like we may have some snow.  I am just concerned about the black ice. That is always very messy. Since it has been raining since yesterday and continues, it may be harder to treat the roads.

Last year, Ian had a blast playing in the snow. We made a small snowman, wrote his name in the snow, and showed him how to make a snow angel. Hopefully we’ll get the chance again.

The weather makes me think of one of my favorite songs from the movie “White Christmas” — Snow.  I love this song which is sung by Bing Crosby, Rosemary Clooney, Vera Allen, and Danny Kaye. Wonderful harmony!

Here are the lyrics (I had to add bullets so the text would stay together).

  • Snow. It won’t be long before we’ll all be there with snow.
  • Snow. I want to wash my hands, my face and hair with snow.
  • Snow. I long to clear a path and lift a spade of snow.
  • Snow. Oh, to see a great big man entirely made of snow.
  • Where it’s snowing all winter through
  • That’s where I want to be
  • Snowball throwing that’s what I’ll do
  • How I’m longing to ski through the snow-oh-oh-oh-oh
  • Those glist’ning houses that seem to be built of snow
  • Snow. Oh, to see a mountain covered with a quilt of snow
  • What is Christmas with no snow
  • No white Christmas with no snow
  • Snow.
  • I’ll soon be there with snow
  • I’ll wash my hair with snow
  • And with a spade of snow, I’ll build a man who’s entirely made of snow
  • I’d love to stay up with you but I recommend a little shuteye
  • Go to sleep, and dream of Snow!

On my birthday, my sister sent me a video of this song from the movie. Wonderful gift, that’s for sure.

I wonder if it will snow today. We’ll know before going to bed.

One thought on “Will It Snow?

Leave a Reply

