Time With My Son

Time with my son is a blessing.

I have been so fortunate to be a stay-at-home Mom and I realize the blessing that is.  Some days I do need a break and time to myself but for the most part, it is fabulous.  I honestly wouldn’t trade this time for anything.

Our son is named Ian.  He is smarter than his years and quite funny.  We recently were reading a book about the alphabet.  Upon seeing the Z, he said, “that is what comes out of your mouth when you sleep.”  I was quite amazed.  How I love seeing his mind at work and listening to the comments that he makes.

He is a joy to be with and a real cutie. Of course, I am a little biased! As I sure most kids have, our son has his favorite things to do each day, his favorite foods, and people who he enjoys being with. He does like routine, likes going to the library, playing, as well as being outside.

There is always much going on and the energy he exudes is non-stop from when he wakes up to bedtime.  Before having a child, I never truly realized all that goes into being a parent. It is truly the most important yet most exhausting thing ever.

I turned 40 years old two months after my son was born.  So, I am an older mother than my mom was starting out.  At that age, my parents had teenagers already. I, on the other hand, was just starting out.  But, I can’t imagine any different. I wasn’t ready in my 20s for marriage or children. But the good thing is that I had time for myself, and time to figure out (with the Lord’s help) who the right mate was for me.

I was 30 when I married my husband. We enjoyed being newlyweds and had the opportunity to travel and have some great experiences. And, I was loving my career. Children were the last thing on our minds – at least for a while.

Then as my husband was finishing his Ph. D., we found out I was pregnant.  What a year that was. We were so excited and so ready for this new chapter in our lives. I felt pretty good but craved Mexican food each day. Then when I nursed, I continued to eat tacos and enchiladas. Now, Ian loves cheese enchiladas and beans. Interesting, don’t you think?

My husband and I are so thankful for our son and realize how important our jobs are as his parents. He will be starting school in a few years and then the time will fly by.  So, these days of preschool I cherish and enjoy just listening to him and playing, and taking the time to read him a book.

As I wrote about a few weeks ago, time is something you only get once and then it is gone.  So, I am trying to make the most of the time that I have with Ian. In just a short time, he will be a young student, then a teenager, and eventually a high school graduate and college student, and start his own career.  I can’t wait to see all of those stages of his life.  I hope and pray that I am blessed to do just that.

Isn’t it amazing that parenthood is all about teaching and nurturing and encouraging your child to eventually be a functioning adult who will leave you and make his or her own way in the world?  It’s not something that is easy to think about since he is still so young. But I know that day is coming.  Lord please help me teach him what I need to in order that he will be a successful boy, young adult, and man.

I wonder if we can teach him everything he needs to know and encourage him to follow his dreams and be the man God made him to be? I will try each and every day to do just that and love Ian and his daddy as much as I possibly can. I realize this is not possible without my faith and the Lord’s strength to help guide me.

Leave a Reply

