Birthday Blessings

Yesterday was my birthday and it was a great day!

My day started with a very early wakeup call wishing me a happy birthday. After some more resting, my husband and son prepared breakfast in bed for me and we enjoyed that.  What a wonderful way to start the day.

Then I read notes on Facebook from many dear friends wishing me a happy birthday.  Some of these dear people I haven’t seen in years yet they remain very dear and precious to me. Isn’t it amazing that with some people, you can be apart for a while but when you are together, it is like no time has passed? And, you can get right back into the rhythm of your friendship?  I hope that you have people in your life like that.

One friend I have known since elementary school. She mentioned a time that we got in trouble in a class which for the two of us was rare — really it was.  The funny thing is that right before Thanksgiving I saw the teacher at the grocery store. This was the teacher who had us go to the coat closet as punishment (where we continued to talk). It was great to see this man who’d been so important in my younger days. This friend and I have always liked to laugh and continue to do so! A few years ago we had a great time at the beach with our children and hope to get together again!

I heard from another friend who I’ve also known since elementary school. She mentioned making Christmas ornaments at one of my birthday parties and that she still had the ornament and had put it on her tree.  That really made my day! What a fun memory.

Thanks to them and all of my friends and family who gave me such wonderful birthday wishes and songs and kindness. All of you mean so much to me and it was so nice to hear from you!

After we had lunch, the three of us watched the movie Hello Dolly starring Barbra Streisand and Walter Matthau. This was another trip down memory lane and stirred up a lot of memories for me.  I was in the musical  production of Hello Dolly at our community playhouse in the summer of 1984.

It meant a lot to be in this show since a few months before I had been injured in an accident. Another friend and I were run over by a car and a third friend was bumped by this same car and flew through the air. After the accident, I was home from school for three weeks because of injuries all over my body – including having my braces come out (thank the Lord for those or I would have lost the top row of my teeth).

While watching this movie, I thought back to that time and the fact I was so glad to dance in a show after having been hurt just a short time before. I remembered some of the lines word for word and a few of the songs as well.  I mainly was thanking God for me and my friends and the fact that none of us was badly hurt. What a miracle! And watching my son enjoy the music and costumes and dancing and the actors ride on a train added something very special. Needless to say, happy tears were shed!

After that the three of us met my parents for dinner at a Japanese restaurant – some of my favorite food. That was really nice and a fun evening. Then another member of our family joined us and we then came back to our house and had cake and opened presents. Yesterday wasn’t the first time I had celebrated.  A few weeks ago, my cousin and I had a joint birthday party where I received some other very nice gifts and had wonderful times with family. And since then, my son Ian has been singing for me and wishing mommy a happy pre-birthday!

Ian helped me blow out my birthday candles after singing Happy Birthday dear Mommy, happy birthday to you. That on top of the rest of my day was the (pardon the pun) icing on the cake. I am so blessed and so thankful for all of these wonderful people who I know. You all rock!

I am in my mid-40s now and truly appreciate and understand the importance of friends, family and the time I spend with special people in my life. Each day is precious and a real gift.

Thank you Lord for another amazing trip around the sun and another great year full of life, love, loss, and much happiness. I wonder what new adventures await me between now and my next birthday.

2 thoughts on “Birthday Blessings

  1. I loved reading your post. It made me happy and it wasn’t even my birthday! haha.
    I so get what you saying about being in your mid 40’s and cherishing your time spent with family and friends. It really is so important, isn’t it?
    Love you friend!

Leave a Reply

